Here come the Migrants

Ahhhhh, spring is in the air!  The early warblers have arrived, the birds are singing and the Osprey are already on nests!

I went home for a quick visit to see my family in the middle of April and got a sneak peak at what was headed my way.  Yellow-Rumped Warblers and Palm Warblers were easy finds and were the first Warblers I have seen in Maine too.  Forster’s Terns were present at the shore and in the marsh were Northern Shovelers and Coots, Snowy and Great Egrets, Black-Crowned, Tri-Colored and Great Blue Herons.  It was amazing.

Back in Maine, the Egrets and and some of the herons have been visible, an mixed in with the Glossy Ibis have been a few White-Faced Ibis.

5 thoughts on “Here come the Migrants

  1. Hi Chuck, Great photos. The Black-crowned Night Heron and the Snowy Egret looks like they were taken at the marsh in Barnegat. Did you ever get back to the marsh? Across the street on the bay side a few days later there were 100+/- Common Terns on the pilings. It was really cool watching them all dive for fish.

    • Yes, those were the one’s I took just before you arrived. I looked at the images and the Terns were Forster’s Terns, which I thought were Common, but I guess the Commons do come up a bit later. I had no idea Forster’s were in NJ that early.

  2. Chuck, your photos just keep getting better and better. I loved seeing these. I miss all the lovely little warblers – I’ve never seen any here – though of course I do have lots of other interesting birds. 🙂

  3. Chuck, these are so beautiful. Thank you! I guess it’s because I no longer hear birds that I really do not give them much thought…. But your photos show how gorgeous and exquisite they are. Thanks for sharing your talent and your interest.

    Michie

Leave a Reply

