More Suprises! Just in time for the Holidays!

Happy Hanukkah to me!  I decided to start my day with a little trip to the Saco River walk which is a small trail that hugs the Saco River near the water treatment plant and a CMP (Central Maine Power) right of way with some power lines.  I know it sounds delightful, but for some reason, it is a very birdy spot.

I arrived at the parking area by the boat launch and saw at least four, possibly five mockingbirds.  One of them was eating berries on a thorny bush and was very cooperative.  The early morning light was very warm when I captured the images.

Over the past week  there have been several sightings of a rare, Greater White Fronted Goose.  I was hoping to get a good look at this bird, but what I found, I believe, was a Toulouse Goose.  This is a domestic bird that was bred from Greylag Geese in Europe.  I cannot be sure, so I am not going to claim it as a rare bird sighting.

As I scanned the geese on the Biddeford side of the river I spotted a Red-Throated Loon!  I have been birding this area for six years and I have never seen one this far up the river. Better still the bird kept swimming and diving closer and closer to the Saco side of the river.  I was able to get some really good looks at the loon and some good images too!

I continued to walk on the river walk and spotted a late Nashville Warbler.  In the same patch were White-Throated Sparrows, Goldfinches, Cardinals, Blue Jays, Dark-Eyed Juncos, a Ruby-Crowned Kinglet, large numbers of American Tree Sparrows and a Winter Wren.

I climbed up a hill after the Nashville Warbler flew up above the trail.  When I got to the top a Merlin flew in after a flock of some 47 Cedar Waxwings.  Also in the river were a large number of Canada Geese and three hen Common Mergansers.  These are the first Common Mergansers I have seen of the season and I am still anxiously awaiting the arrival of the Goldeneyes.

3 thoughts on “More Suprises! Just in time for the Holidays!

  1. Nice blog, Chuck. Great pics. I had an unknown domestic goose last winter that spent the season flying around with Canadas. It was weird to see it behind like a goose should, rather than staggering around a barnyard, waddling because it was too fat and not able to fly. Some on the list called it a Frankengoose.

Leave a Reply

